Beyond Politics

Although my commentaries touch on the subject of politics, I do not write a “political” blog.

What I write about on my blog goes beyond politics.  I am no political wonk.  It is my spiritual perspective that drives me to express my thoughts about what is happening in society today.  The Bible is the source of my perspective and the guide for my thoughts.

To lump my concerns into the category of politics is to demean the content of my commentary to that of petty squabbling, and push me aside like just another pestering annoyance.

Defining down the subject matter of my concerns particularly offends me.  What I write about comes from noble aspirations, a firm conviction of what is right and true, and the sure knowledge that there are consequences to all our decisions and all our acts.

My intent has never been to demand a confrontation or force anything down anyone’s throat.  But, just as I would respond to others when they approach me with their opinions and interests, I don’t feel it is unreasonable for me to expect a mature, rational response from others when I approach them.

It is a sad day when decent persons cannot discuss anything they may have disagreements on.  But that seems to be increasingly the case.  Rather than having civil discourse about their differences, many today opt to simply ignore those who disagree with them.

While that strategy may provide the temporary benefit of avoiding conflict, inevitably, unresolved differences will surface.  The longer resolution is postponed, the harder the confrontation will be when parties to the controversy are forced to face the issue.

All I want is the freedom to broach subjects dear to me and the assurance that my proffered ideas will be received and responded to.  And when the response is in disagreement with me, I’d like to have the freedom of responding in kind and conversing on the subject.

The net effect of one person not being open to to what others consider important is the avoidance of any controversial conversation.  When one person is not free to be open about what is important to him, then the relationship becomes less genuine, less intimate, less realistic, more shallow, more of a pretense.

I originally addressed this idea in 2009, in a Christmas piece entitled, “Those Two Things” which I posted on my blog in December of 2010.  It is a rather long article in which I tried to explain my passion for discussing politics and religion with family and friends.  I will continue to write about matters that deeply concern me, in the hope that other decent, rational people become engaged in the important issues of our time.

About retiredday

I am Michael D. Day, a regular, everyday guy -- retired. I stand for God-given freedom, which means I think for myself. I believe in being civil, because the Bible teaches that we should love our enemies. But I also believe in saying it how I see it, and explaining just why I see it that way, sort of like 2 Timothy 4:2.
This entry was posted in Discussing differences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

