Are You Free?

Some piece of eye candy on Fox News this morning told me they’re going to keep me informed on “what I need to know”.   What qualifies any news program to appoint itself to the role of deciding “what I need to know”?  Only I hold that position in my life.  I decide “what I need to know”.  But that’s because I grew up being free.  I think like a free man.  In terms of information useful to me to live my life as I see fit, my access to that information should not be subject to any “expert” or “authority” pre-digesting or pre-filtering it.  In a free society, information is freely available to everyone.  And free people have the right to access that information as they choose.  It is my right and only my right to determine “what I need to know”.

Only in a repressive society do so-called “experts” and “authorities” control information availability by determining what you need to know.  And that is what we now have: a repressive society.  In addition to news agencies, our government has been increasingly busy making you learn to not be free.  Candidates seeking votes to propel them into a career of power brokering and self-aggrandizement tell you, “I will fight for you!”  But a truly free person doesn’t want someone else  to fight for them.  Being free means having the freedom to fight for yourself, because when someone else fights for you, they don’t do it for free.  It’ll always cost something… not just your money but your freedom.

It is nothing more than your own acquiescence that gives these self-proclaimed experts the authority to tell you what you need to know.  It is your own willingness to let others take responsibility for each aspect of your life that gives them their authority.  So many Americans look to the government to take care of them.  They have taken the soma of Brave New World.  They have drunk the Koolaid.  And like the nations who have “drunk the maddening wine of her [Babylon the Great] adulteries” (Revelation 18:3) they will experience total destruction.

If this assessment seems a bit extreme to you, or if you think it’s all an overreaction, it’s because you haven’t learned to think like a free person.  You have no real idea of what freedom is at all.  Freedom isn’t just fun and games.  It’s not just live and let live.  Freedom is responsibility.  I am responsible for me.  Freedom is also authority.  Every free person has sovereign authority over his own life.  The only greater authority is God Almighty.  The ‘democracy’ of our federal republic is the consensus of the wills of “individual authorities”.  The sovereignty of our nation represents the sovereignty of our people.  The freedom of our nation represents the freedom of  our citizens.

You are not free if you let someone else tell you what you need to know.  If you think you are free, don’t just sit there.  Start thinking like a free person, and exercise your freedom.

About retiredday

I am Michael D. Day, a regular, everyday guy -- retired. I stand for God-given freedom, which means I think for myself. I believe in being civil, because the Bible teaches that we should love our enemies. But I also believe in saying it how I see it, and explaining just why I see it that way, sort of like 2 Timothy 4:2.
This entry was posted in Freedom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are You Free?

  1. nemo235 says:

    yes, Iagree, most americans don’t know what true freedom. My parents fit this profile

    Like

Leave a Reply

